2022 Sixth Badminton Poll & State Tournament information

Each team is to send their results after each match to kja8067@gmail.com or by text.

All teams  are ranked 1-27. Single and doubles ranked 1 to 12.


Schools need to send me their line ups by Thursday, May 12 for the team (first through fourth singles; first through third doubles) plus alternates; and individual (first /second singles and doubles). They will be posted on line—Friday, May 13.

The format will look like this:



  1. Abigail Arcvist (Individual)
  2. Berniece Benson (Individual)
  3. Cally Cadwallader
  4. Delilah Denver

ALTERNATE: Karen Knutson


  1. Esther Escargo/ Florence Fosdick (Individual)
  2. Gladys Germaine/ Henrietta Hancock (Individual)
  3. Isabell Ipso / Janice Johnson

ALTERNATES: Louise Larson / Molly Mangrove

The top 16 teams make the team portion of the state tournament. On Tuesday, May 17 the top four seeds will be hosting three other schools with games starting at 4 pm. There will be two rounds of action—-for example at the #1 seed they will face #16 while #8 will play #9. The winners will play directly after that in the quarterfinals. The final four schools will then play the semifinals followed by the  championship/ 3rd place game on Wednesday, May 18 at Eden Prairie starting at 4 pm.

All schools will be involved in the individual portion of the state tournament. The individual portion of the state tournament will be Thursday, May 19 at Edina starting at 4:30. The tournament will be single elimination.

An important note for the individual side of the tournament. Players from the same school will not meet until the championship or third place game.

Interesting Facts: There are new leaders in set wins at both singles and doubles. Trinity is now the leader in singles with 53 set wins followed by Highland Park at 50. Johnson is the leader in doubles with 38 but the race is close. Trinity is at 37, and Burnsville has 36.

Two schools have more wins in doubles than singles—–Central 25-17, and Eagle Ridge 2-0.



  1. Johnson
  2. Washington
  3. Burnsville
  4. Highland Park
  5. Como Park
  6. Harding
  7. Central
  8. Edina
  9. Trinity
  10. Humboldt
  11. Eden Prairie
  12. Kennedy
  13. Southwest
  14. Math & Science
  15. Hmong College Prep Academy
  16. Roosevelt
  17. Community of Peace
  18. Henry
  19. Tartan
  20. North St. Paul
  21. Washburn
  22. South
  23. North
  24. Edison
  25. Eagle Ridge
  26. Hiawatha
  27. Prairie Seeds


These schools are listed on the MSHSL badminton page for 2022. Some may not field a team this year.

Great River-TCA, Park Center, Wayzata


  1. HaNeul Jeong-McDonell, Highland Park
  2. Cinderella Nwe, Washington
  3. Kanlaya Thao, Harding
  4. Yeng Lai Thao, Johnson
  5. Maddie Blackbourn, Burnsville
  6. Sunshine Vang, Highland Park
  7. Rain Htoo, Washington
  8. Nicharee Lee, Johnson
  9. Zadie H, Central
  10. Pa Nra, Como Park
  11. Maggie Kocon, Trinity
  12. Betsie Lundberg, Edina


  1. Ashley Herr/Birdy Xiong, Johnson
  2. Abby Briese/Corrina Benson, Burnsville
  3. Julia Bowron/ Emma Clift, Central
  4. Hope Moua/ Faith Moua, Johnson
  5. Dun Htoo/Cho Cho Oo, Washington
  6. Kimberly Tobar / Ana Xiong, Harding
  7. Tree Saw/ Yurnee Paw, Humboldt
  8. Norah Kennedy / Ella Zawoyski, Edina
  9. Julia Williams / Margaret Ryan, Trinity
  10. Ariel Fang / Paw Eh Soo, Washington
  11. Lisa Genis / Leah Merid, Burnsville
  12. Lah Shar/ Gay Nee, Como Park

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.